FIA European Drag Racing Championship

Michael Gullqvist is the new leader after Sunday qualifying for Main Event at Santa Pod

Anita Mäkelä (Top Fuel), Leif Andreasson (Top Methanol Funny Car), Timo Habermann (Top Methanol Dragster) and Jimmy Alund (Pro Stock) remained at the top of their categories based on their Saturday qualifying performances and will lead their categories into Bank Holiday’s eliminations for the Main Event at Santa Pod Raceway, the first round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship. In Pro Modified Michael Gullqvist stormed to a stunning 5.882 seconds to take over the number one qualifying position from Saturday leader Mats Eriksson.

The third qualification session Sunday morning at Santa Pod was delayed and interrupted by showers, but after the rain disappeared, the Pro classes could complete their scheduled third and fourth qualification sessions.

Stig Neergaard

Top Fuel

In Top Fuel Anita Mäkelä could not improve on her Saturday 3.960 seconds, but as none of the other competitors could come close to her time, Mäkelä kept the number one position. With 4.04 seconds from his third qualifying run Stig Neergaard jumped from seventh into the number two position. Duncan Micallef from Malta improved on his Saturday performance and with 4.09 seconds the Maltese is the first of the four Rune Fjeld Motorsports drivers.

Duncan Micallef

Liam Jones is fourth and best rookie. Leader after the first run, Jari Halinen will start eliminations from fifth position, with reigning champion Micke Kågered in sixth. In her first Top Fuel race Birgitte Bremnes will start from seventh. Mäkelä will face Tethys, driver of the Erbacher Racing dragster, in the first round of eliminations.

Michael Gullqvist

Pro Modified

Major changes in Pro Modified after the third and fourth qualification run. Yesterday’s non qualifier Micke Gullqvist’s third run was an impressive 6.04 seconds, good enough to jump into the number two qualifying position. But the multiple champion saved the best for the last (and fourth run), stormed to a stunning 5.882 seconds to change positions with Saturday leader Mats Eriksson.

Roger Johansson

Tero Laukkanen

A clean pass for Roger Johansson (6.00 seconds) gave the nitrous driver third qualifying position. Yesterday’s number two, Norbert Kuno could not improve on his great 6.09 seconds and will start tomorrow eliminations from fourth. A time improvement too for Tero Laukkanen (6.15 seconds) and the Finn will start from fifth. Although slower than his usual form, Bruno Bader recorded a 6.18 seconds and pushed David Vegter into sixth. As many drivers had better runs, even number fourteen qualifier Roger Moore is in the 6.4-second zone. Gullqvist will face Chris Isaacs in the first round of eliminations tomorrow morning.

Dennis Habermann

Top Methanol Dragster

In Top Methanol Dragster Timo Habermann was fastest again on the second day of qualifying, but could not improve on his 5.33 seconds from Saturday. Dave Wilson stayed in second while Timo’s brother Dennis Habermann (5.46) changed positions with Jonny Lagg (Saturday, 5.48 seconds) and will start eliminations form third and fourth.

Leif Andreasson

Top Methanol Funny Car

In Top Methanol Funny Car all three drivers improved on their Saturday performance, are all in the 5-second zone, but didn’t change positions. Leif Andreasson stormed to 5.698 seconds while Stephanie Milam impressed with 5.91 seconds. After some adjustments German Jürgen Nagel improved to 5.96 seconds.

Jimmy Alund

Pro Stock

Like in Top Methanol Funny Car no changes in position in Pro Stock too. Again Jimmy Alund was on a class of his own and fastest in every run. Thomas Lindström’s Saturday time kept him in second position. The only driver to run faster then yesterday was Simon Gustafsson but the Dodge driver will still start eliminations from fifth position.

Magnus Petersson

Eliminations at Santa Pod Raceway will start tomorrow Bank Holiday Monday at 9.30 a.m

Series Partner
Media Partner
Travel Partner
Racing Fuels Partner
News Archive