Stig Neergaard, Ari Pietilä, Timo Habermann, Michael Gullqvist and Jimmy Alund leaders after Friday qualifying at the NitrOlympX


Stig Neergaard

Stig Neergaard raced to the number one qualifying position in Top Fuel at the first day of qualifying for the NitrOlympX, round four of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship at the Hockenheimring, Germany. In Top Methanol Funny Car Ari Pietilä surprised with a new personal best and is the number one qualifier. In Pro Modified reigning champion Michael Gullqvist was quickest and leads the field with two more qualifying sessions to go. In Pro Stock Jimmy Alund is the number one qualifier, while in Top Methanol Dragster local hero Timo Habermann leads the field after day one.

Nice temperatures, not too much sun and a great track at the Hockenheimring, Germany, on day one of the NitrOlympX, round four of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship.


Liam Jones

In Top Fuel, championship leader Stig Neergaard was quickest on the first day of qualifying with a great 4.05 seconds and will enter day two as the provisional leader. Liam Jones proved the better form he showed at Alastaro and is close behind the Dane with 4.06 seconds.


Urs Erbacher

Urs Erbacher, supported by many Swiss fans, is the number three qualifier with 4.27 seconds, while runner-up in the championship after three races, Anita Mäkelä, is fourth.


Ari Pietilä

In Top Methanol Funny Car, Ari Pietilä from Finland stormed to a new personal best of 5.68 seconds and is the leader after two runs. Championship leader Johnny Oksa is second with 5.69 seconds, with local hero Jürgen Nagel in third position. It’s the first time Pietilä and Oksa race at the Hockenheimring.


Jürgen Nagel


Michael Gullqvist

In Pro Modified Michael Gullqvist from Sweden was quickest, and with 6.01 seconds the reigning champion almost broke the 6-second barrier.


Johan Lindberg

In his second run, Johan Lindberg stormed to 6.09 seconds and jumped into the number two qualifying position. David Vegter recorded 6.124 seconds in his second run and is third, closely followed by Mats Eriksson (6.125 seconds), Michel Tooren (6.128 seconds) and Bruno Bader (6.131 seconds).


David Vegter


Jimmy Alund

In Pro Stock, Jimmy Alund leads the field after day one with 6.60 seconds, while Bengt Ljundahl is second with 6.645 seconds. The gap to number three qualifier, Michael Malmgren is bigger than expected as the Swede recorded 6.81 seconds.


Bengt Ljundahl


Timo Habermann

In Top Methanol Dragster, Timo Habermann stormed to 5.39 seconds and is the number one qualifier. It’s the first race of the season for the former TMD champion. Jonny Lagg is in second position after day one with 5.56 seconds and reigning champion Dennis Habermann is third.


Jonny Lagg

Qualifying for the NitrOlympX continues Saturday with another two runs.

Link to the results:

Link to the photo gallery:

Text and photos: Remco Scheelings

Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive