Anita Mäkelä wins first-ever all-female FIA Top Fuel final at Tierp Internationals


Birgitte Bremnes and Anita Mäkelä

Anita Mäkelä from Finland raced to victory by defeating Birgitte Bremnes from Norway in the first-ever all-female Top Fuel final in the history of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship. Mäkelä was the only driver to record 3.9-second runs in the semi-final and final at the Tierp Internationals. Reigning champion Micke Gullqvist was the winner in Pro Modified while Magnus Petersson defeated Bengt Ljungdahl in the Pro Stock final. Chris Polidano from Malta and Johnny Oksa from Finland were winners in Top Methanol Dragster and Top Methanol Funny Car in the second round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship at Tierp Arena, Sweden. 

Beautiful weather conditions at Tierp Arena at race day. In Top Fuel Anita Mäkelä defeated Stefan Gunnarsson in the first round and had to face reigning FIA European Top Fuel champion Micke Kågered in the semi-final. In that semi-final the Finnish racer was the first driver to break the 4-second barrier this weekend at Tierp Arena and in 3.95 seconds Mäkelä advanced to the final. There Mäkelä had to face Brigitte Bremnes, the young Norwegian driver who defeated Main Event winner Stig Neergaard and multiple FIA European champion Urs Erbacher on her way to the final. In the first-ever all-female Top Fuel final of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship, Mäkelä recorded 3.975 seconds, her second 3.9-second run of the day to defeat Bremnes (4.12 seconds).


The final




Michael Gullqvist

In Pro Modified number one qualifier Mats Eriksson was consistent and with a string of low 6.0-second runs the Swedish racer defeated Micke Johansson, Norbert Kuno and David Vegter. In the final Eriksson had to face reigning champion Michael Gullqvist, who reached the final by defeating Håkan Persson, Johan Lindberg and Ake Persson. It was Gullqvist who took the win in 5.94 seconds against 6.02 seconds for Eriksson.


The final




Magnus Petersson

A big surprise in Pro Stock as number one qualifier and favourite Jimmy Alund ran into problems in the semi-final and was defeated by Magnus Petersson. In the final Petersson had to face Bengt Ljungdahl who defeated reigning FIA European Pro Stock champion Thomas Lindström in the semi-final. In the final Petersson had an easy win as Ljungdahl pulled a red light.


The final




Johnny Oksa

In Top Methanol Funny Car Johnny Oksa from Finland had a bye run in the first round and as Leif Andreasson couldn’t stage in time and got a red light in the semi-final, Oksa advanced to the final. There he had a bye run again as Mikael Larsson couldn’t make it to the start of his semi-final.


Johnny Oksa


Chris Polidano

In Top Methanol Dragster number one qualifier Chris Polidano from Malta was the winner when Jonny Lagg had problems before the final and didn’t show up.


Chris Polidano

The FIA European Drag Racing Championship continues July 8-10 with the FHRA Nitro Nationals at Alastaro, Finland.


Text and photos: Remco Scheelings

Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive