Svein Olav Rolfstad, Timo Savolainen, Jan Sturla Hegre and Mogens Lund number one qualifiers at FHRA Nitro Nationals

Svein Olav Rolfstad

Svein Olav Rolfstad raced to the number one qualifying position in Super Twin Motorcycle at the final day of qualifying for the FHRA Nitro Nationals, round two of the EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship at Alastaro, Finland. In Pro Stock Motorcycle Timo Savolainen claimed the number one qualifying position. In Top Fuel Motorcycle Friday leader Jan Sturla Hegre remained in the number one position, while in Super Street Bike Mogens Lund was in a class of his own and will enter eliminations as the number one qualifier.

It were not the best days of racing on Friday and Saturday at Alastaro, as oildowns caused long delays and were the reason that not all four qualifying rounds of the Finnish rounds of the EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship could be completed.

Greger Johansson

In Super Twin Motorcycle Svein Olav Rolfstad stormed to a stunning 6.56 seconds and claimed the number one qualifying position. Greger Johansson recorded 7.63 seconds in Friday qualifying and that was enough to be the number two qualifier.

Jaska Salakari

Local hero Jaska Salakari was the surprise number three qualifier with reigning EDRS Pro Nordic MC Super Twin Motorcycle champion Samu Kemppainen only fifth qualifier.

Timo Savolainen

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Timo Savolainen, from Finland, remained in the number one qualifying position with his Friday elapsed time of 7.23 seconds.

Kenneth Holmberg

Kenneth Holmberg (Sweden) improved to 7.27 seconds to claim the number two qualifying position, with Thomas Lysebraate Olsen from Norway in third position.

Thomas Lysebraate Olsen

Alex Hope, from England is fourth qualifier, making the top four coming from four different countries. Janne Koskinen made his Pro Stock Motorcycle debut at Alastaro. After completing his licencing procedure, the young Finn touched the wall in qualifying and crashed. Koskinen was taken to hospital and has a broken knee and wrist.

Jan Sturla Hegre

In Top Fuel Motorcycle Jan Sturla Hegre from Norway claimed the number one qualifying position, with reigning champion Thomas Pettersson in second position.

Mogens Lund

In Super Street Bike favourite Mogens Lund was in a class of his own, claiming the number one qualifying position with 7.38 seconds.

Vesa Ruhanen

Anders Blanck improved to 7.60 seconds and is the number two qualifier with Vesa Ruhanen in third and Robert Håggblom in fourth position. Reigning champion Henri Kolehmainen was only sixth qualifier and will have to improve his elapsed times in eliminations to stay in the title race.

Toni Suokas

In Super Comp Bike Toni Suokas is the number one qualifier, with Peter Östlund in second position, while in Super Gas Bike Heikki Koskinen and Kari Rautanen will lead their category into eliminations.

Heikki Koskinen

Eliminations for the FHRA Nitro Nationals at Alastaro will start tomorrow morning, July 2th.

Qualifying results:, (scroll down the page to see the results)

Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive