Let’s get 2017 started


With the fireworks extinguished and the champagne bottles empty, 2016 is history, so let’s get 2017 started. The 2016 EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship was exciting all the way, but also hampered by, let’s call it ‘incalculable’ weather. Kalle Lyrén and Samu Kemppainen lived up to their high expectations, while Thomas Pettersson and Henri Kolehmainen were maybe less obvious champions. For the next eight months they are the proud owners of the number one plates, but at the end of August, after four new and exciting race meetings, new history will be made.

The first three races of the 2016 EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship were badly affected by rain. But the third season of the EDRS Pro Nordic MC ended on a high with the grand finale, the Scandinavian Internationals at Tierp.


Pro Stock Motorcyle was dominated by 2014 EDRS Pro Nordic MC champion Kalle Lyrén. The Veidec Lyrén Motorsport rider was number one qualifier in all four races and being both quick and consistent, Lyrén stayed unbeaten in eliminations. On his way to the title, the 2016 champion also recorded his first ever 6-second runs in Europe.


In Super Twin Motorcycle, Samu Kemppainen showed the same dominance as Lyrén, as the reigning champion was in a class of his own. The Finn claimed the number one qualifying position in all four races and won all his runs with elapsed times close to, or in the 6.5-second zone. Consistency was the key to Thomas Pettersson’s first EDRS Pro Nordic MC Top Fuel Motorcycle title, as the Swede scored points in all four races.



Henri Kolehmainen took the lead in the Super Street Bike championship after a surprising win in the opening race at Tierp. The Finn won his rounds and was still in the lead when the championship returned to Sweden for the last race. There, Kolehmainen was defeated on a hole shot in the first round. But as all other favourites failed too, the championship went to Finland.


For the first time Super Comp Bike and Super Gas Bike were part of the EDRS Pro Nordic MC and proved to be a valuable asset. It was sad to see that both classes were the most affected by the bad weather, but still in Bianca Nilsson (SCB) and Janne Koskinen (SGB) both categories got a champion who deserved the title more than anyone else.


That was 2016, but now it’s time to get the 2017 season started. There will be no major changes to the EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship, as stability is the best way to build the championship to get to an even better position. There will be the same six categories and four races again, starting at Tierp Arena and after Alastaro Finland and Gardermoen Norway, the riders and teams will be back for the finale at Tierp. As it looks right now, all classes will have a healthy number of entries, and especially Super Street Bike and Pro Stock Bike might see some (new) interesting names.


Send your news to Dragracing Europe

With the new season starting soon, riders and teams must have news about their plans, sponsors, crew chiefs, team members etc. Please share your news with your fans and our readers and send a message to: remco.scheelings@speedgroup.eu.

EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship Race Calendar 2017

15-18 June, Tierp Internationals, Tierp Arena, Sweden

30 June – July 2, Nitro Nationals, Alastaro, Finland

27-30 July, Gardermoen, Norway

24-27 August, Scandinavian Internationals, Tierp Arena, Sweden

Classes: Top Fuel Motorcycle, Pro Stock Motorcycle, Super Twin Motorcycle, Super Street Bike, Super Comp Bike, Super Gas Bike

Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive