Liam Jones, Sandro Bellio, Jimmy Ålund and Bengt Ljungdahl number one qualifiers at FHRA Nitro Nationals


Liam Jones (Top Fuel), Sandro Bellio (Top Methanol), Jimmy Ålund (Pro Modified) and Bengt Ljungdahl (Pro Stock) claimed the number one qualifying positions at the FHRA Nitro Nationals at Alastaro and will lead their respective categories into Sunday’s eliminations at the third round of the 2018 FIA European Drag Racing Championship.

After the rain hampered first day of qualifying, that reduced the number of qualifying runs to only one, day two was great with cool air and sunshine. Thus all FIA classes could complete the two scheduled qualifying sessions, with many improvements and changes in the qualifying order in almost all classes as a result. In two of the four categories there was also a change in the leader position at the end of the second day of qualifying.

Liam Jones

In Top Fuel Friday leader Liam Jones from England was also the quickest driver on day two. The Rune Fjeld Motorsport driver improved to 4.011 seconds and will lead the quickest and fastest category into tomorrow’s eliminations, were Jones will face Stefan Gunnarsson.

Liam Jones

Anita Mäkelä

Anita Mäkelä improved on her earlier performance with 4.04 seconds to take over the second qualifying position from Antti Horto (4.07 seconds).

Antti Horto

Timo Lehtimäki, also from Finland, will enter the eliminations as the number four qualifier, with Mikael Kågered fifth, reigning champion Duncan Micallef sixth and fourth Finnish driver in the field Janne Ahonen seventh.

Sandro Bellio

In Top Methanol Sandro Bellio stormed to a stunning 5.48 seconds to take over the number one qualifying position. The young Belgian driver had some problems in the first two race of the season but bounced back on day two at Alastaro with coming close to his personal best.

Timo Habermann

The number two, three and four qualifiers are extremely close. Timo Habermann improved to 5.435 seconds and is the number two qualifier, yesterday’s leader Jonny Lagg is the number three qualifier with 5.436 seconds and Dennis Habermann improved to 5.439 seconds and is number four.

Jonny Lagg

Because the Funny Cars get an advantage of 0,22 seconds over the Dragsters, Bellio’s 5.48 seconds was enough to claim the number one qualifying position.

Jimmy Ålund

There were many improvements and changes in the qualifying order in Pro Modified. Jimmy Ålund stormed to a stunning 5.86 seconds to claim the number one qualifying position.

Michael Gullqvist

There was also an improvement for Friday leader Michael Gullqvist (5.90 seconds), but the reigning champion couldn’t match Ålund’s numbers.

Andreas Arthursson

Andreas Arthursson (5.98 seconds) is the number three qualifier, while Kim Kristiansen was the fourth driver to break the 6-second barrier with 5.99 seconds. David Vegter improved to 6.05 seconds and is in fifth position, with Bruno Bader sixth (6.09 seconds). The top three drivers are from Sweden, but in the top six are drivers from four different countries.

Bengt Ljungdahl

In Pro Stock Bengt Ljungdahl, last year’s FIA European champion, improved to 6.55 seconds and remained in the number one position.

Stefan Ernryd

There was also an improvement for the number two qualifier Stefan Ernryd (6.63 seconds) and the leader in the championship will have to face Jimmy Ålund in the first round of eliminations.

Robin Norén

Robin Norén improved to a great 6.68 seconds and jumped into the number three qualifying position, with Tierp winner Michael Malmgren fourth.

Eliminations for the FHRA Nitro Nationals will start tomorrow morning.

Qualifying results and elimination ladders :

(scroll down to the bottom of the page

More photos from the FHRA Nitro Nationals can be found at:




Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive