Samu Kemppainen and Kalle Lyrén clinch the 2016 EDRS Pro Nordic MC titles with a win at Scandinavian Internationals


Samu Kemppainen

Samu Kemppainen (Super Twin Motorcycle) and Kalle Lyrén (Pro Stock Motorcycle) won the EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship in their respective categories in style by winning the Scandinavian Internationals at Tierp Arena, the fourth and final round of the EDRS Pro Nordic MC. In Super Street Bike Björn Friström took the win, with Henri Kolehmainen as the 2016 EDRS Pro Nordic MC champion. In Top Fuel Motorcycle the final between Jan Sturla Hegre and Thomas Pettersson was not contested as rain brought an early end to the eliminations of the Scandinavian Internationals. Pettersson scored enough points to win the title.  

Tierp Arena hosted the fourth and final round of the EDRS Pro Nordic Motorcycle Championship.


The final

In Super Twin Motorcycle Samu Kemppainen once again was in a class of his own during eliminations. The number one qualifier defeated Erling Opheim and Harri Piensalmi in 6.49 and 6.69 seconds to advance to the final. In the final the Finn had to face Hans Olav Olstad. The Norwegian racer recorded 6.65 seconds in the quarter final and had a bye run in the semi-final. But when Olstad wanted to fire up his bike for the final, there was a problem and the Norwegian rider saw Kemppainen take the win in 6.55 seconds.



For the second consecutive year Kemppainen is the EDRS Pro Nordic MC Super Twin Motorcycle champion. Greger Johansson and Vidar Ravnsborg both went out in the first round and ended the championship in third and fourth position as they got passed by Olstad, who is the 2016 runner-up.


Kalle Lyrén

In Pro Stock Motorcycle championship leader and number one qualifier Kalle Lyrén also dominated eliminations. After a first round win in 7.01 seconds over Bo Thorselius, the Veidec Lyrén Motorsports rider needed a better reaction time to defeat a quicker Elvira Karlsson, who was back to form after some problems in qualifying. In the final Lyrén had to face reigning FIM European champion Fredrik Fredlund, who improved on his earlier performance with a 7.05 seconds win over Timo Savolainen in the semi-final.


The final

In the final Lyrén had the better reaction time and with 6.98 seconds once again broke the 7-second barrier to take the win over Fredlund (7.05 seconds). How dominant Lyrén was this season, proves the points standing as the Swede has 106 points more than runner-up Savolainen. The Finn scored enough points to take over the second position from Thomas Olsen.


The podium


Björn Friström

In Super Street Bike there was a major upset in the first round when championship leader Henri Kolehmainen was defeated on a hole shot by Emil Őstlund. That opened the door for some riders to catch up with the leader or even win the title. But as Mogens Lund was defeated in the quarter finals, and number one qualifier Richard Stubbins was hit by problems in the semi-finals, Kolehmainen still won the 2016 EDRS Pro Nordic MC Super Street Bike Championship, 23 points ahead of Stubbins. After a difficult season, 2015 champion Björn Friström finally got to grips with his new bike and advanced to the final after defeating Lund and Vesa Ruhanen.


The final

In the final Friström had to face number 12 qualifier Jani Kumpulainen. The Finn advanced to the final after surprising wins over Stubbins and Anders Blanck. But in the final it was Friström who took the win to end his difficult season on a high. In the championship Friström jumped into the third position, while Lund dropped to fourth.




Semi-final with Thomas Pettersson

In Top Fuel Motorcycle Jan Sturla Hegre and Thomas Pettersson advanced to the final. Just at the moment the two riders wanted to fire up their engines, it started to rain and the final had to be cancelled. With his semi-final win Pettersson scored enough points to take over the lead from Rikard Gustafsson and win the EDRS Pro Nordic MC Top Fuel Motorcycle Championship. Gustafsson ended the 2016 season in second position, with 2015 champion Hegre in third.




Bianca Nilsson

The rain was also bad news for the riders in Super Comp Bike and Super Gas Bike. Both categories still had to race their first round at the moment the Scandinavian Internationals ware cancelled and so they didn’t race at all on the Sunday. In Super Comp Bike the first ever EDRS Pro Nordic MC title goes to Bianca Nilsson, while Janne Koskinen is the first ever EDRS Pro Nordic MC Super Gas Bike champion.


Janne Koskinen


Championship standings:



Series Partner
Media Partner
Racing Fuel Partner
News Archive