Micke Kågered Nitro King of the Ring

Micke Kågered

The Hockenheimring must be Micke Kågered’s favourite racetrack. For the second consecutive year Kågered was the winner in Top Fuel, and the way the reigning champion did it was even more impressive: number one qualifier, fastest in all elimination rounds and low ET and top speed of the event! With his victory the Bahco Express driver extended his lead in the championship and took maximum advantage of the first round exit of his closest rivals Anita Mäkelä and Stig Neergaard.  Continue reading

Habermann brothers rule at their home track

Timo and Dennis Habermann

In an all Habermann final Dennis defeated his brother Timo with a margin of only 0.004 seconds to take the win in Top Methanol Dragster at the 30th NitrOlympX. Despite the heat, the Werner Habermann Racing drivers were extremely fast in qualifying and eliminations and deserved the win with their family, so many sponsors and numerous fans in the grandstands. With his victory Dennis Habermann is also the new leader in the FIA European championship.     Continue reading

Leif Andreasson extends his lead with a win

Leif Andreasson

The victory in the 2015 NitrOlympX will not be on top of the long list of races Leif Andreasson already won in his Top Methanol Funny Car career. With only two entries and some problems for Jürgen Nagel, it was not one of the most hard-fought wins for the multiple FIA European Champion. But to win, you have to be at, and finish the race. With his victory Andreasson extended his lead in the championship and is now 96 points away from reigning champion Johan Lindberg.  Continue reading

Mikael Kågered, Michael Gullqvist, Dennis Habermann and Leif Andreasson win at Hockenheim NitrOlympX

Mikael Kågered

Mikael Kågered finished off one of his best weekends of the last two years by claiming a dominant victory in Top Fuel at Hockenheim. With his win the reigning champion extended his lead in the FIA European championship. Michael Gullqvist kept his championship dream alive by defeating Mats Eriksson in the Pro Modified final at the Rico Anthes Quartermile. Top Methanol Dragster was an all German final with Dennis Habermann defeating his brother Timo, while Leif Andreasson from Sweden was the winner in Top Methanol Funny Car at the 30th NitrOlympX, the fourth round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship.  Continue reading

Micke Kågered, Mats Eriksson, Timo Habermann and Leif Andreasson number one qualifiers at 30th NitrOlympX

Micke Kågered

Micke Kågered is the new leader in Top Fuel after the second and final day of qualifying at the Rico Anthes Quartermile. Mats Eriksson (Pro Modified), Timo Habermann (Top Methanol Dragster) and Leif Andreasson (Top Methanol Funny Car) remained at the top of their categories and will lead their respective categories into Sunday eliminations for the 30th NitrOlympX at Hockenheim, the fourth round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship. Especially in Top Fuel the field is extremely close, so eliminations will be exciting.  Continue reading

Jari Halinen, Mats Eriksson, Timo Habermann and Leif Andreasson provisional leaders in the heat of Hockenheim

Jari Halinen

Jari Halinen is the leader in Top Fuel after the first day of qualifying for the 30th NitrOlympX at Hockenheim, the fourth round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship. In Pro Modified Mats Eriksson’s 6.22 seconds was enough to take the lead after day one, while in Top Methanol Dragster and Top Methanol Funny Car Timo Habermann and Leif Andreasson are the provisional leaders. Qualifying was curtailed to one run, as there was a massive oildown short before the second session and there was not enough time left to bring the track back in racing condition.  Continue reading

FIA European Sub Committee meeting briefing

The FIA European Sub Committee for the FIA European Drag Racing Championship had the annual FIA Drag Racing Commission meeting in Denver, USA on the 22nd-23rd of July.

Lars Pettersson, Vice President tells;  -We worked on the FIA rules for the 2016 season, we have received ideas and proposals from teams and officials from the FIA Championship and also from NHRA and the ASN/Federations in the Commission. We evaluated all proposals and made changes and took decisions for 2016 and the changes will be published at the end of the year after the FIA WMSC have ratified them. Continue reading

The NitrOlympX kicks off part two of the 2015 FIA European Drag Racing Championship

The 2014 NitrOlympX Top Fuel final

The 2015 FIA European Drag Racing Championship is halfway through the season and part two kicks off with the NitrOlympX at Hockenheim. The special atmosphere of the HockenheimRing, Motodrome and the Rico Anthes Quartermile, the action packed Nightshow, it all makes the German round of the FIA European Championship to a very special event. But even more important, the NitrOlympX is the start of the second half of the season, and with three races in one month, it’s the busiest part of the year. Gaining points at Hockenheim is important to stay in the championship race, to catch up with the leaders, or increase the lead.  Continue reading

The Pro Stock Championship heats up at Alastaro

Hannu Kalliomäki and Magnus Petersson

After record breaking performances at the first two rounds of the season, even the most cautious would have been tempted to put money on Jimmy Ålund in Finland, but if you had taken that bet, you would have lost. Not only did the nine time European champion qualify in an uncharacteristically low fourth place, he was eliminated in round one.  When Pro Stock turns cruel, it turns really cruel.    The rest of the top four in the championship suffered mixed fortunes, Michael Malmgren was also eliminated in round one, whilst Thomas Lindström went out in the semis. Magnus Petersson made it to another final, but the glory of the weekend went to Richard “Nixxon” Sundblom who won at his home track in his first event of the year.  Continue reading