Monthly Archives: June 2016

FIA European Drag Racing Championship continues at the state-of-the-art Tierp Arena facility


After a great start at The Main Event at Santa Pod Raceway, the teams of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship travel to Tierp Arena, the state-of-the-art drag race facility north of Stockholm. Can Stig Neergaard, Jonny Lagg, Bruno Bader and Jimmy Alund repeat their strong Santa Pod performances, or will the chasing group catch up with the provisional leaders? New competitors will start their European campaign in Sweden and with a healthy entry in almost all Pro classes, and the fact that Tierp Arena is almost a guarantee for European records, the Tierp Internationals (June 16-19) is a race everybody is looking forward to.  Continue reading

Stig Neergaard in command at The Main Event


Stig Neergaard and his winning team

Stig Neergaard has always had the speed, but at this year’s Main Event ‘the real Stig’ surprised with the combination of both speed and consistency at the moment he needed it. The Dane was low qualifier with 4.02 seconds and was the only Top Fuel driver to break the 4-second barrier at the season-opening race of the FIA European Championship at Santa Pod Raceway. So Neergaard deserved the win when he defeated reigning champion Micke Kågered in the final, to be the first leader in the 2016 FIA European Top Fuel Championship. Continue reading

Bruno Bader dominates Pro Modified field at The Main Event


Bruno Bader

From the very first moment, Bruno Bader was the man to beat in Pro Modified at The Main Event. But nobody could, and so, starting from the number one qualifying position, the Swiss racer reset his personal best in the final, to take the win in the low elapsed time of the weekend, and beat reigning FIA European Pro Modified champion Michael Gullqvist. An impressive performance from the quick and consistent Bader. Continue reading

Jonny Lagg in personal best to Main Event victory


Jonny Lagg

Jonny Lagg reset his personal best in the final to take the Main Event win in Top Methanol Dragster. Lagg started the final as the underdog against 2014 FIA European champion Chris Polidano, as the Maltese driver recorded a stunning 5.29 seconds in the semi-final. But when the moment arrived, Polidano’s motor caused problems and so Lagg had a bye run to the podium. Continue reading

Speedgroups contingency programs first delivery from Summit Racing Equipments

LMP_0654_Summitbild Champions_LP540

Summit Racing Equipment’s simple formula is “Give customers the parts they want at a fair price, deliver those parts fast, and back them with the best customer service on the planet.” Summit sponsors winner with $200 and runner-up with $100 in the car classes. After The Main Event Round 1 in England was finished on Monday, we can now present the FIA Champions and Runner up who was given the  Summit contingency program sponsor presents. From left; Pro Stock RU Thomas Lindström, PM RU Michael Gullqvist, TF RU Mikael Kågered, TF Winner Stig Neergaard, PM Winner Bruno Bader. Missing in the picture are; PS Winner Jimmy Ålund, TMD Winner Johnny Lagg and PMD RU Chris Polidano.